Just when you think there is nothing for lunch…

On Wednesday morning, this week, I slept in.  I was late getting up by a full 20 minutes.  Normally, I get up at 5, have a glass of water and my Ionix, followed by another glass of water, and then giddy up and finish off packing everyone’s lunches, and then head out either for a 35 minute run or a short 10 minute run before I get to my work out.  So, sleeping in by 20 minutes, throws the whole plan out of whack.   On this day, instead of just getting up and getting going making lunches, I got busy and made my husband’s lunch, and then got on with getting ready for my work out.  My thought was they can make their own lunches for a change.  At 16, 16, 11 and 9, they are all more than capable of making their own lunches.  So, when they all surfaced at 7 am, I informed them of this.  The big girls very sweetly offered to make the younger ones lunches as well.  My son was quick to jump on this, with a “Yes, please!” before he headed for the shower.  My 9 year old?  Not so much.  “I want Mummy to make it…” I said, “No, you can make your own.”  She started poking in the cupboards, and asking what there was.  I said, “You can make a chicken and spinach wrap, or you can make a cheese and tomato sandwich.”  We had some stampy feet, and some pouting.  “I don’t want those things.”  Then she found a tin of smoked oysters.  I said, “No.”  Next she pulled out a tin of tuna…”Can I have this?”  I said, “Sure.  You can make a tuna sandwich, or a wrap.”  Instead, we ended up with tuna and white beans with vinaigrette, and a bowl of spinach and baby kale. (and a little container of feta to sprinkle on).  She was thrilled, and I sort of got out of making lunches.  Originally, the recipe came out of a Nutrition Action Magazine from 2010, I believe.  I have it scribbled out on a recipe card.  It was a big hit tho’!

Here is what we used:

1 14 oz can white kidney beans (you could use chick peas too), rinsed and drained

1 can tuna packed in water

8 cups of dark leafy greens (spinach, kale, romaine, etc)

Vinaigrette: (makes 1/2 cup)

5 TBSP Olive Oil

2 TBSP red wine vinegar

1 Tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 Tsp honey

1/8 Tsp salt.

Combine all ingredients in 1 cup mason jar with a lid.  Cover and shake well.  Pour over tuna and beans.  Spoon tuna and bean mixture over leafy greens.

 

One thought on “Just when you think there is nothing for lunch…

  1. Pingback: Clean Lunch menu for April Week #4 | cleanlunchbox

Leave a Reply

