Powerhouse Muffins (your kids will eat)

How often do you make muffins full of healthy stuff, and the kids go, “Meh…” and you end up freezing them and sending them in lunches, and day after day, they come back half eaten, with the “Well, we didn’t have enough time…” (insert trailing off voice here).
Well, these ones started out with a request from my daughter for something other than “blueberry spelt muffins”. So, I went looking for a banana muffin recipe, “With chocolate chips, please”. I found a basic one in a Dieticians of Canada cookbook “Great food fast”. However, 3 bananas, plus 3/4 cup sugar, white flour and chocolate chips? Well, let’s just call them cupcakes. So, I played with the recipe. The first go meant, whole spelt flour and 1/3 cup sugar. Little soggy lumps. A waste of good chocolate chips. A few more tries to get the recipe you see below. But boy are they good!

Powerhouse Banana Muffins

1 1/4 cup whole grain flour (I use spelt or organic whole wheat, you could mix in some oat flour here too)

1/3 cup ground flaxseed

1tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 scoops Vanilla Isapro protein powder

3 medium bananas, that are all yellow (but not super ripe), mashed

1/3-1/2 cup coconut palm sugar (or brown sugar)  (the amount will depend on whether you are using chocolate chips or not as well as whether your bananas are really ripe or not).

1/3 cup 0% plain Greek yogurt

1/4 cup olive oil

1 egg + 1 egg white

3/4 cup organic rolled oats

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 handfull of chocolate chips

1 hand full of raw sunflower seeds.

Preheat oven to 375F and line muffin tins with papers.

Combine flour, flaxseed, Isapro protein powder, baking powder, salt, baking soda and set aside.  In bowl of standing mixer, beat bananas until very mushy and almost smooth.  Add sugar and continue until well blended.  Add egg and egg white and beat until well blended.  Add yogurt, and olive oil an vanilla extract and beat well on medium until smooth.  Add rolled oats, and mix in well.  Then let the wet mixture sit for 5 minutes (this is to soften the oats).  After 5 minutes, remove bowl from mixer and with a fork, blend in dry ingredients, followed by chocolate chips and sunflower seeds.

Measure using a large food scoop into prepared muffin tins and bake for 22-24 minutes.  Let cool on rack 5 minutes before serving.  Yum!  Eat right away or freeze as soon as they have reached room temperature.

 

Enjoy!

Kim

 

 

2 thoughts on “Powerhouse Muffins (your kids will eat)

  1. Hi Kim,

    I love getting your posts in my mailbox. I actually feel inspired…not that I don’t stop every time and think to myself “how does she do it all?”. I am definitely going to try these out on Grace & Aidan and I will swap out the sugar for Xyla (xylitol). It’s what I have been using for a few months now and it’s a really, really great alternative to sugar. I mentioned it when we were doing the Isagenix…

    I’m actually working with the company Xylitol Canada on a PR campaign to help spread the word about this healthy sugar replacement. I am in touch with many Canadian bloggers and thought of your blog too. I know you more or less stick to recipes on your blog so I don’t know if it’s out of line to ask if you might be interested in getting our media package to see what you think for a product review and to test it in your kitchen and for you and your family. At the very least, I have seen several recipes from Gwyneth Paltrow’s new cookbook “It’s All Good” where she swaps out sugar entirely and uses xylitol. Laila Ali says it’s her “go-to” sugar replacement.

    Anyway, hope you are well and if you’re game, let me know and I’ll email you our press release etc. If you do want to try it, I’ll need your address and a phone number for the courier slip.

    Thanks Kim,

    Tina

Leave a Reply

